In order of ranked performance, the women's team consists of Liv Philip, Helena Bourdillon and Nancy Gibson, with Kate Goodwin in reserve, while the male line-up is Michael Board, Dean Chaouche and Carl Atkinson, with Adam Mustoe in reserve.

Selection was based on the highest proven performances in the three freediving disciplines - Free Immersion, Constant Weight and Constant Weight No Fins.

The Championships are being held in the 25th anniversary year of freediving's governing body AIDA, between 22 August and 3 September. The event is organised by Roatan Freediving School & Training Centre under the direction of Esteban Darhanpé.

The BFA says it is seeking further sponsorship for the UK team.

Divernet - The Biggest Online Resource for Scuba Divers