The annual competition is run by the US Web-based Underwater Photography Guide, and entries were judged by a panel made up of UPG’s founder Scott Gietler, along with the UK’s Martin Edge, Marty Snyderman, Todd Winner and Tony Wu.
There are 12 categories in the competition: Wide-Angle, Macro, Cold Water, Portrait, Marine Life Behaviour, Novice DSLR, Compact Macro, Compact Behaviour, Compact Wide-Angle, Nudibranchs, SuperMacro and Divers/Fashion. The aim is to give underwater photographers of all levels a chance to win.
The overall winner, who also topped the Cold Water section, was the appropriately named Viktor Lyagushkin. His image Diver Under the Ice, shot in Lazurny Quarry, Russia (left) won him an 18-night dive trip to Walindi, Loloata and the FeBrina liveaboard in Indonesia.
The prizes included more than 35 liveaboard and resort packages, and diving equipment. Full details of the annual competition can be found at